40 hours in Vilnius – Lithuania

In my previous update I said that Bucharest is my favourite European Capital city. Well, I think it is sharing place with Vilnius. Why?

Vilnius is very pretty too. Plus it is got a district that self declared as its own republic, very funny. The food I am not so fond off, but it is also very lush and green, with more arts and culture happening. It is the reverse of Bucharest that not much good arts and culture thing but the food is good!

image

Another charm city has is it has a river running through it. Walking along the river from the hotel was really nice. Here is what I saw first when I came in to the centre of the town by the river.

image

image

I would really recommend going to this castle because it gives you a really good view sweeping across the city. I took the funicular up and walk on the way down.

image

Next walk towards the lovely park, there I had my first taste of the lithuanian snack that is fried bread. I would say more of a greasy and though croutton.

Carry on walking across and you would find yourself in Uzupis republic
, where you can see lots of random art.

image

image

Their funny declaration. 41 declaration including:
no. 3. Everyone has the right to die, but this is not an obligation
16. Everyone has the right to be happy.
26. Everyone has the right to celebrate or not celebrate their birthday

image

image

I then stopped at a cafe near the river, and had their non-alcoholic beer caled Kvass. It taste sweet and sour, brownish red in colour. Weirdly, it taste similar to and Indonesian drink made from tamarind, asam jawa. The atmosphere of the cafe is quiet nice.

During the morning I saw about 20 or more bride and grooms walking their party everwhere in town, mostly for a photoshoot I think. I find this interesting as it was a rather a high number of couples.
image

image

The next day was raining so I took my time in the hotel. Had extra sleep and long breakfast, before going out to visit the art centre.

Whilst walking trying to find the CAC, I happen upon a religious procession, which I could not find out what it is about. Do you perhaps know? It is a Sunday in June.

image

image

The CAC, Contemporary Art Centre was next on my list. The cost is 6 Litas, which is £1.30 /€1.70 ish, really cheap! There is one floor to the centre, the most interesting exhibition is Time and image perception. A cool thing about the place is their reception table is made out of aeroplane wings?

Saw more interesting art and cute things around so I would really recommend just wandering around vilnius on foot.

image

image

What do you think? Have you been there ? If you have, what was your favourite part? Do you know any good Lithunian Food that I definitely have to try to change my mind about what I think about it?