Bilbao & Guggenheim Bilbao – Spain

One of the days whilst in France to cheer me up, my friends took me to Bilbao. Not really. I just said : I am going to the Gugenheim in Bilbao, it is up to you whether you are coming or not.πŸ™‚

Really easy drive, 2 hours from we were. As we arrive the Guggenheim was the building that welcomes you to the city.

Guggenheim Bilbao Spain

 

The entry to Guggenheim is : €13 and free for children. You are not allowed to take pictures but there were so many people who did, so unfortunately I broke the rule too!πŸ™‚ Mostly out of admiration and protest! I believe that art should be as accessible as possible. N’est pas?

 

I love this by Koons.
Jeff koons Tulips guggenheim bilbao

 

 

image

We ate lunch at the cafe there, price wasn’t the cheapest but reasonable.

On at that moment the changing exhibition is Yoko Ono perspective. The most fun is the telephone, you can go to this glass labyrinth to pick up the phone. I thought the best installation I saw in there was: Ragnar Kjartansson: The Visitors. Very cool concept where musician are recorded playing different instruments in different rooms.If we didn’t realise how long the song was we would have stayed in the room for the whole hour because of the hauntingly beautiful song and interesting concept. Pic 2 on the left hand compilation.

After Guggenheim, we then walked to the old town, went around town by the side of the river too. It was very pleasant.

Bilbao Old Town Spain

Church in Bilbao Spain

Bilbao river view spain

I think you need at least 2 days in Bilbao to enjoy it properly.

It was also 40Β°c, by then people were having their siesta so shops are closed, so we decided to go back and have a swim. I am still amaze at times, that only by 9pm the sun starts to go down. In Indonesia the clock works the same sun down around 6pm.

colorful shop front bilbao

Apologies for the minimum pictures, I highly recommend reading about Bilbao and Guggenheim on ChezLorraine blog, more interesting photos and details.πŸ™‚

Have you been to see an art instalation that draws you in and makes you want to interact with it longer?