Lisbon’s Bookshops and other things

There is certainly a contrast  of forms in Lisbon’s bookshop, old beautiful ones with beautiful wooden shelves, selling beautiful books, and those in train station that looked a bit like a cheap bookshop because of their displayed in white plinth, dusty but modern looking books.

Here are some pictures of the old bookshop.

image

image

There was one that is a industrial looking bookshop, Ler Devagar.

image

In the middle of the bookshop there is a giant industrial machine of printing press (I think).

image

They serve good coffee and funny meringue pies.

image

The bookshop is situated in the midst of a creative quarter, LX Factory, slightly outside the centre of Lisbon. The area is worth a visit itself, full of interesting restaurant, vintage and design shops. I would be interested to visit the place on a Friday and Saturday night.

image

image

The other thing I visited was the famous food hall in Lisbon, Mercado Riberia. It is basically a food court inside a market, obviously a bit more interesting with its old surrounding and contemporary designed stalls.
image

image

There were so many choice and as I arrived lunch time it was pretty full. I choose a traditional Portuguese fish and some fried chilly. I think if I had more time I would have tried other things there.

image

In the Mercado Riberia there is a shop called A Vida Portuguesa. It has got a lot of cool made in portugal things.

image

I bought some cool illustrated postcard and this beautifully hand bounded notebook. If I had not only brought with me a backpack, I would have bought more notebooks.
image

Have you been to any lovely bookshops lately? Or a creative quarter. Let me know.

This trip happened in May. Other update:

Lisbon and its rooftops