Lisbon’s Urban Decorative Walls

There are so much going on lately that I have been very laxed on blogging. I just remembered about this one update that has been the queue for ages. Mba Loraine’s update of Porto’s Azulejos reminded me of it.

In the span of 7 centuries the art of urban decor seems to be a Lisbon’s thing. There are so many pretty tiles (Azulejos) which has been there since the 15th centuries covering the walls of Lisbon. There were a lot of different patterns, colours and shapes, that I quite often disregard the scenery to take pictures of.

Then there were a lot of interesting 21st Mural art.

I had two trails that I followed during the trip, one is of Azulejos tiles that takes you through the old town of Lisbon. I borrowed this map from a friend, it is made by Phillip Kennedy.

image

I have uploaded some on my instagram account too if you want more.

image

image

image

image

image

image

And it ends up at the Museum of Azulejos. I would say this is one of the striking museums I ever visited. Very instagramable venue, there are so many beautiful background for your pictures, you can spend hours just taking them.

image

image

Here are some I took in the museum.

image

image

image

Oh, and inside the museum don’t miss anything. There is a surprising (well for me anyway) find in the centre of the museum.
image

If you are ever there, try to have your lunch in the museum’s humble looking restaurant. I had a really affordable and good lunch. The restaurant is set at the back in a nice and rustic veranda with a fountain.

Here is what I had there. Very Yummy!

image

 

The other trail is from this book: Street Art Lisbon by Zest. I bought at the bookshop of Centro de Arte Moderna. Well actually I didn’t exactly follow the trail, I just looked for the mural I really want to see and I accidentally found some on my wanderings. Ha..Ha.. Ha.. anyway it is always good to coincidentally find them, right? What is good about the book, it will tell you who draws them, if they knew.

image

Here are some of the ones I saw during my stay in Lisbon.

image

image

image

image

image

Lisbon definitely have some pretty walls, I hope this continues on, I wonder whether it will?

image

image

What do you think?