A – Z Indonesia Inspired Font

The booklet caught my eyes with its combination of unusual colours and traditional pattern.

image

If you have been following me for a while you’d know that I am into illustrated A-Z s books, so when I saw this at Dialogue Artspace in Jakarta I was pretty excited. The price of IDR 90,000 is not so bad, £4 is a price of a small book from a starting up illustrator here. 

By Leboye design, or more by Hermawan Tanzil the man behind the design company. According to the booklet, it took him 10 years to complete it.

I would say this is more a font pattern design book than your usual A-Z book. Because the names patterns used in the book does not relate to the alphabets used.

image

Another funny thing about this design book is that it starts and kind of end with a point and an excerpt from Alfred Wallace book, which I find hard to understand the link between him and the fonts. Tenuous, I would say.

image

image

Nonetheles, it is still a beautiful booklet with a brief explanation of the patterns traditional use and where it originates from in the archipelago. It is wonderfully printed on a sustainably sourced paper, wrapped in a poster with the patterns in top of each other. It also comes with a CD that contains the fonts in bitmap form.

image

What do you think? Oh, and let me know if you have seen a nicely design A- Z book that links with Indonesia and/or by an Indonesian.