Made in Indonesia – 2016

I have a confession. I lied in this post. To say that I only buy postcards when I travelled. That is not entirely true. I only buy postcards if I travel in European country, when using budget airline, with only 1 bagpack. It is entirely a different story when I go to Indonesia. I am sorry. I can’t help it.

Not only because the quality of the design and work that Indonesian products are amazing, I feel that is somewhat obligatory, for me to buy Indonesian made and designed items, because it is important that I support and appreciate the Indonesian creative Industry.

If you are not Indonesian and you think I am biased, please do, but take a look at these and you are welcome to say if you still think that my judgement is bias. All I can say that people here have asked me where I bought these items.

Tamimi Sling bag – Screen printed hand dyed

The bag is by a company in Bantul, Tamimi.
image

I really – really like this specific print, it is really simple but very different. I also liked the touch of leather straps making it look that you can wear it to the office  but also can wear it in the weekends. 

image

The zipper helps a lot to close up the bag when I travel, it has a really roomy space in side. They were IDR400,000 (£20/26) which is such as reasonable price for a handmade bag. I bought them in the really cool shop called Genetika in Jogjakarta.

Diela Maharanie print Tote Bag & Pouch from 2Madison

A tote bag! Another one, yes I know. I asked my friend how many tote bag does a girl need. He said firmly “ONE”. I looked at this bag, perhaps my 10th. Haha. But I can’t resist this one. It has prints of one of my favourite Indonesian Illustrator – Diela Maharanie!!

image

It was so difficult to settle on this one from around 6 different designs, I spent nearly 30 minutes on deciding. Except the illustration there is nothing special on the making of the bag, only that it has a lovely lining. But I still love-love it, I finally get to own something designed by Diela. I bought this in 2Madison shop in Kemang, Jakarta. The price is similar to the brown bag, which makes me really think that the other one is a lot better value.

image

Other little things I bought are these notebooks also from 2Madison, and these pair of shoes from a high street shop The little things she need

image

I am not sure about the quality of these shoes but, how can I resist for IDR 150,000 (£8/10). Also I am not sure whether they are made in Indonesia.

What do you think? To overcome my guilt of buying too many bags I have been wearing them all regularly for the last month. So don’t judge me. Oh ok Judge me.😦

Indonesian, what was the last modern designed and made Indonesian thing that you bought?