Going to the Market

When I was really little, one of the things that I look forward to is to times when our over-the-road neighbour, Bude (Aunty), ask me whether I want to go to the market with her. The market is only 15 minutes walk from the house, or 2 minutes on the mikrolet (blue, people carrier van, local transportation).

image

I loved going because she always bought me my favourite traditional coconut cake “kue pancong” as soon as we get there. Like these ones. They are so yummy and gurih (umami)

image

I would then follow her first to the dry goods stall, then around to the vegetables stall and finally it is the meat or fish place. She had her ‘favourite’ stalls, the stall owners would know exactly what she would be looking for, they sometimes offer some suggestions what is the freshest, came this morning from Pasar Minggu. My Bude will choose and inspect the best out of them. When I asked how does she know, she showed me the things I should look for, as to me unless they look rotten, they all look the same.

image

Can you tell which one is the best banana flower?

image

During her inspection, she and the stall owner would exchange stories, sometimes the newest gossip or about their family. In the beginning they asked whose child I was, Bude would say the daughter from the big house across the road her mother works in an office. After a couple of times they stopped asking and know that Bude is looking after me.

image

Sometimes before we go back, she buys me extra traditional cake, usually it is my other favourite a hot Kue Ape, it is Jakartan style pancake with soft pandan middle and crispy sides. Yumm. We would usually then take the angkot orΒ  Andong (horse and carriage) back. Yes, when I was little there were still horse and carriage in the corners of Jakarta. In Jogja today, you can still get a becak (rickshaw) like this, although nowadays there are some motorised rickshaw.

image

I love going to markets even now, seeing fresh food ingredient, the variety of things that people sell, the vibrant colours and the buzyness of Indonesian market is very attractive. Of course the opportunity to buy yummy traditional food is a big bonus.

image

These are some snaps I took when I visited a market in Jogja. What do you think of markets? Do you like markets? If so what do you like about them?