Taking the Train to Jakarta Kota

As promised from my last visit to the Jakarta Old Town, I would visit the Fine Art and Ceramic Museum on my next trip.

My brother and I took the train from Bogor to Jakarta Old Town this time, it was a really quick journey but we had to avoid rush hours on either side, So like last time it was a really quick trip. We had a better weather though.

Museum Fatahilah Jakarta Kota Tua

Funnily enough, in the ceramic museum, I couldn’t see any ceramic. We followed the route of the museum, most of which contain paintings. Paintings of Indonesian famous painters like Affandi. It is not really my kind of Art, I like weird clever art so I don’t really want to dwell on it too much.

The museum is housed in the old Dutch court house, it is quite grand with big columns.
Pillars at the Ceramic Museum Jakarta

In the middle of the building there is a courtyard.
Ceramic Museum  Courtyard Jakarta

Surrounding the courtyard are white washed walls with big double green doors for access to the rooms.

Ceramic museum veranda - Jakarta

When we were there, there was an exhibition on painting of women.women painting

We then went inside the Cafe Batavia to have a meal before going back to the station. I had chicken satay, as you can see. It tasted alright, some might say it is overpriced, but it is worth it to just go to see how it looked like inside. It was very dark, I couldn’t get a decent pictures, so apologies.

satay at cafe batavia jakarta